Starting in July, new photos and videos from Drive won’t automatically show in Photos. Similarly, new photos and videos in Photos will not be added to the Photos folder in Drive. Photos and videos you delete in Drive will not be removed from Photos. Similarly, items you delete in Photos will not be removed from Drive. This change is designed to help prevent accidental deletion of items across products.
It is important to note that existing photos and videos will stay in Google Drive and Google Photos.
For some this may disrupt the fact that you will not have a backup of your photos in Drive. Just something to be aware of. Maybe uploading to Shutterfly could spell you for a bit.