pt>

Sunday, December 16, 2018

Team Drives - A brief overview showing the basics of Team Drive in Google Drive

Team Drives in Google Drive  is a shared space where teams can easily store, search, and access their files anywhere. The difference between Team Drives and your own Google Drive is that files in a Team Drive belong to the team, not just an individual. What is great is that even if members leave, the files stay exactly where they are so your team can continue to share information and get work done. Of course you can adjust settings (both of the folder/file as well as who has what access in the Team Drive).

When creating your Team Drive you can add members and then decide what type of access they should have. The access includes manager, content manager, contributor, commenter, and viewer.


Once a Drive has been created and members added, any files that you add to the Drive are now available to the "Team". Again, depending on the access granted, the users could be able to edit, delete, move files, or just simply be able to view.

This ability to have a Team Drive is beneficial for numerous reasons. To name a few...
  • It fosters collaboration among your colleagues (and makes sharing with everyone simple. You do not need to email everyone - you can let them know that the file(s) are in the Team Drive.
  • Allows for new hires to see instantly get access to the right documents 
  • If team members leave the district or company, the files stay in the Team Drive.
  • All files are available from the cloud and can be accessed anywhere the user has a device.
Embedded below is a 4 minute and 54 second YouTube tutorial I created.




Take care,
Brad