If you create a video and mark it as private, you can still share the video with others while still keeping it private.
When you publish your YouTube video you will see the options for Private, Unlisted, and Public. What is nice is, under Private you will see a link to Share Privately.
You will then see the ability to email others to see the video. Please note that the users must have a Google account to view the video.